Freedom of Speech, Y'all!

Friday, Jan. 30, 2004 at 11:38 AM


So 'she' posted AGAIN on my guest book. Something about disclaimers don't protect you from the law. WHATEVER. It wasn't an attempt to cover my ass. It was an attempt at humoring myself. And it worked, I and many other people, got a great laugh out of it. I have no problem with her trying to get me for slander or libel as, HELLO; I used to be editor of 2 newspapers. I think I know a thing or two about what you can and cannot write. I do not mention her last name nor do I link to her or anything related to her in my diary. I could be talking about any Amy in the world.

----

ANNONYMOUS RESPONSE TO THAT:

She is getting a little out of control. If I were you, I would ask her, politely of course, to refrain from reading your diary, posting anything on it or emailing you unless it is something civil and with a point other than continuing the fight. Obviously she has no intention of letting up or growing up and handling the situation in a mature manner. Tell her that you are done with this "internet and email war" and if she has anything further to say to you, call you and say it to you outright, not with the mask of cyberland. I honestly think she has NO case against you what so ever. It's called free speech. There's no last name either, which makes you safe there as well. Think of all the things that people post, in journals, on forums and everywhere about Bush or other political figures and you don't see them suing people left and right. We have a right to like or dislike someone and because we live in a free country we can say so. As long as your not buying ads in newspaper or commercials on TV, I think you're ok!

-------

Missie's response:

lol- Ooh, never thought of that ;) a billboard in Times Square:

"DO NOT GO NEAR THIS WOMAN! RUN; DON'T WALK, AWAY FROM HER! SHE IS SKITSO!"

With a big picture of her and her phone number and email address plastered all over it.

THAT, my friend, would be slander. This is not. LOL

-------

ANNOYNOMOUS RESPONCE:

LOL

EXACTLY

hmm... I wonder how much it costs to rent that thing.... we could pitch in and display lots of pics of the people we despise! LOL muuuhhahaha.

-------

And that, my friends and non-friends, is all I have to say about that... :) I also contacted a free legal advice help-line and told them my situation as well as asked if I had anything to worry about and they said no, that it is not slander. They also said I do not have to remove her name or any mention of her from my diary as it is freedom of speech, and I'm protected.

------

Hoorah! for the 1st amendment. And I think this is a bit ridiculous. And I'm not going to let her control what I post. If I let her do that, I'd have to let everyone do that. She asks that I remove her from here, but has she removed me from her site, no. And I asked her to stop emailing me and posting on my guest book and did she? Yeah, that's another NO. I'm tired of it. I'm trying to move on and she won't let me. Shit, I've broken up with people easier than this. The only drama in my life is her, and I've removed myself from the situation and yet still she hangs on. It's sad really. And I feel sorry for her.

But, such is life and I'm through. From this point on, unless something catastrophic occurs, I'm not mentioning the drama anymore.

-----

Well, tonight Suzanne and Rebecca are sleeoing over. Should be fun. I'm looking forward to it. Tomorrow is the shower and then partay at Missie's casa for my friends. Then Sunday is Super Bowl with Tom. Yay for Missie's weekend. I probably won't get online to check my email or to write in here, so Holla Back on my guestbook, show me some love (no haters allowed) and peace y'all-

Miss

last & next

:newest :archives :profile :notes :cast
:pws :disclaimer :guestbook
:design :host